Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player



Job opening, associate professor in solid earth science using information of geodesy and geomorphology  (Deadline: May 26, 2017  [Fri.]. PDF in English)


Job opening, professor in solid planetary science based on space explorations and observations (Deadline: March 31, 2017  [Fri.]. PDF in English)



Last lectures by retiring faculty members:


Robert Geller: 3/7 (Tue.) 16:00-17:30 at Koshiba Hall (live streaming on the School of Science YouTube channel or


Hiroko Nagahara: 3/9 (Thu.) 16:00-17:00 at Koshiba Hall


Yasutaka Ikeda: 3/16 (Thu.) 16:00-18:00 at Rm. 336 (as a Solid Earth Science Forum seminar)


Press release on paper by Yasuhito Sekine (Associate Professor): The Charon-forming giant impact as a source of Pluto’s dark equatorial regions (release in Japanese/article in journal HP)


Press release by Kaoru Sato (professor) and Masashi Kohma (assistant prof.) among others:

Frequency spectra and vertical profiles of wind fluctuations in the summer Antarctic mesosphere revealed by observations using the PANSY radar

(release in Japanese)


Yoko Fukuda (Ph.D. student) receives SGEPSS Student Presentation Award (Aurora Medal: outside link in Japanese)


Takashi Okuda and Masaya Kimura (master's students), as well as Tetsuya Kusakabe and Suguru Yabe (Ph.D. students), receive Student Presentation Awards at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the Seismological Society of Japan (outside link in Japanese)